Starring Florida Lee and Seabird!

I fully intend to continue development on Trilogy, but as I was taking a walk tonight I had an idea for a game that would do a better job of incorporating the Game Chef theme and ingredients: “Florida Lee and Seabird in: Mysterious Mansion”.

The idea started when I was thinking about vampire movies (since I was pondering the upcoming playtest of Dave M’s Steampunk Crescendo), and I realized that I had never gotten around to seeing Bela Lugosi’s Dracula. This, naturally, led me to think of the Bela Legosi Dracula performance I did see, which was in Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein. This, naturally, led me to thinking about how much it must suck to be the villain in a movie like that, since you are inevitably foiled by someone you consider a bumbling imbecile. And that led to the thought “could that be a game?”.

So the idea is that the players are representing the villains in an Abbot and Costello kind of movie. Rather than risk copyright infringement, I would file the serial numbers off (and incorporate a few Game Chef ingredients) by having the movie star the comedy duo “Florida” Lee Johnson (dimwitted, uses physical comedy) and Albert “Seabird” Ross (straight man, the “brains” of their operation). The movie in question would be some kind of murder mystery in a mansion (intrigue!), where play would encourage the players to come up with elaborate plans that would comically come crashing down due to Florida Lee and Seabird’s involvement.

I really have no idea where I would go with this, except that the murder mystery thing reminds me of the board game Clue, so perhaps it would be a board game. Florida Lee would need to be able to get out off tricky situations by using physical comedy. And Seabird would need to generate some useful resource by bullying or tricking Florida Lee.

Odds are that this idea won’t ever go anywhere beyond this post, but I needed to get it out of my head or I wouldn’t be able to think about anything else.

Leave a Reply

