I may have found my star

Continuing with my synthesized oracle mechanic, I arranged forty words around a square. The first attempt at a mechanic has the player roll 1d12 and step around the board that many spaces, noting the word they land on, and continuing that way until they hit a word already on their list. They then break the list of words they have into seven word chunks, and then order the words in those chunks until they inspire the oracle-style text as I previously described. Once you have the order, you use a colored pen to connect the ordered list of words on the square. Each chunk uses a different colored line. My hope was that I could use the length of the line (measured with dividers) and the number of times that the lines cross each other to derive something. I don’t think that’s going to work…

The insane results of my first idea

The insane results of my first idea

So, idea number two has the player rolling 2d12 to move around the board and breaking the word lists into six word chunks if necessary. Then each player does the word ordering and evocative text thing, and then draws a line connecting the words in order, connecting the last word back to the first one. It tends to produce things that look vaguely like stars

A less insane iteration of my mechanic

A less insane iteration of my mechanic

I’m not sure what to do with that yet, but it is clear stumbling across one of the Game Chef ingredients is a sign that I’m on the right track…

2 Responses to “I may have found my star”

  1. C. Edwards Says:

    Actually, what I first thought of when I saw your second picture was constellations. I have no idea if that helps any at all. 🙂

  2. Hans Otterson Says:

    Wow, this is kah-razy in a potentially good way. I still like the synthesized oracle, but I’m not quite sure what to make of this yet. I’ll keep watching.

Leave a Reply

